draw near to Him

image

 

Healing amazes me.  The slow yet sure process of healing.

A little over a year ago I sliced off the corner of my right pointer finger while slicing a sweet potato.  Tip:  when using a mandolin slicer, USE THE FINGER GUARD that came with it.  Please.  I was surprised that there were no stitches involved.  Instead, the nurse applied surgical foam to the wound and then wrapped it in a large bandage.  Small skin injuries like that take a good long time to heal.  But watching the brand new skin – complete with a new patch of fingerprint on it – slowly grow over the wound, was so stinking cool.  Miraculous, really.  After about five months it was completely healed.

I’m healing again.  Now.  My stomach pain and anxiety are subsiding.  Maybe it’s just temporary, I don’t know.  I choose to believe that it’s permanent.  I choose to hope in the Great Physician.  Because friends, beyond a shadow of a doubt, it is He who is healing me.

I’m watching it again.  Watching Him mend me.  Ever since the very day that I was diagnosed with bile reflux gastritis I have been diving into His Word.

Pay attention to what I say;
turn your ear to my words.
Do not let them out of your sight,
keep them within your heart;
for they are life to those who find them
and health to one’s whole body.         – Proverbs 4:20-22

His Word is invaluable.  Through an online women’s Bible study, church sermons, and just personal reading He has been speaking to and teaching (and re-teaching) me so much.  Through the special writing project that I’m working on He has been working powerfully in my heart, as well.  And prayer.  Lots and lots of prayer.  He has been showering blessings on me, as much as I don’t deserve them.  He has ignited my heart with excitement again – about Him, about working from home, about caring for my family, and yes, about being a Pioneer Woman fangirl to an amusing degree.  And cats.  I miss my rescue job.  Stepping down from the stress of it has been profoundly helpful but doggone it, I miss those kitties!   In fact, I believe God isn’t done using me in their furry little lives yet.

“I miss the kitties!” I said to my former boss in an email yesterday.  “Can I come in a couple times a week to work with them and help socialize the really shy ones?”  Her response was that I can visit them anytime.

 

image

 

Since I’m also a fangirl of Jackson Galaxy and have read and observed much about cat behavior and emotions, I want to let God continue to use me in this area.  You guys, cats amaze me.  Endlessly.  Their eyes!  Ohhh, those brilliant orbs have so much wisdom and intelligence and emotion behind them.  Cats communicate with their eyes.

image

I could go on and on.  Felines are the most fascinating, magnificent mini beasts that our Creator has crafted with His mighty hands.  And I can’t stay away from them.  So….this volunteer venture has me over the moon!

 

 

 

image

 

I mean, come on!  Just…..cats!  I’m gonna be part of it again.  Yes, this is meant to be!

I can’t think of a smooth segue to Ree.  Wait, yes I can!  Did you know that she and her family love basset hounds?  (Yeah, it’s a dog segue but it works…)  Yep, they have two basset hounds, a mixed breed, and two golden retrievers, I believe.  Someone help me talk her into getting at least one cat.  Like, house cat.  There are some barn cats on their ranch but they don’t know the joy – nay, the euphoria – of a kitty meandering around their house and snuggling with them while they watch TV.  Heck, a kitty would probably snuggle on her lap while she blogs.  Help me, guys.  Ree needs a cat.

Anyway, yesterday her new kitchen textile line was supposed to be at Walmart.  I read about it on her blog yesterday morning, took the fastest shower ever (Pantene 2-in-1 shampoo plus conditioner is a must-have for times like this) and raced over to Walmart.  I knew right where they’d be.  They’d be in the highly-visible front aisle that everybody sees as soon as they take a few steps into the store.  Exactly where her kitchenwares line was back in September.

image

 

But they weren’t there.

So, naturally, I found the nearest Walmart associate and asked her – with a hint of fangirl desperation in my voice – “Excuse me.  Do you know when you’re putting out the Pioneer Woman textile line?”  She looked somewhat confused and all she could offer was that there was a lot of new merchandise “in back” but she didn’t know when it would all get put out.

“Okay, thank you,” I managed.  I think I kind of squeaked a little when I said it.

I then marched to the kitchenwares aisle and drowned my disappointment in her butter dish.  After all, I didn’t have one yet and needed one.  Legit.  I want to keep a stick of butter on the counter at all times.  Don’t worry.  After extensive googling I learned that, as long as it’s covered, butter can live on your kitchen counter happily and safely for quite awhile. It’s soooo much easier to spread than when it’s cold right from the fridge.

image

My cute little butter dish now headlines as…well, the heading of my blog.  Sweet, right?  (I hope it is showing up for you as the header.  Please let me know if it’s not.)

But I wasn’t done just yet.  When I got home I hopped on Walmart.com and ordered some things.  Just a few.  These bright, colorful dish towels and this table runner.  I want more.  Much more.

image

image

Estimated delivery date:  Tomorrow.  Eeeeeeee!

Thank you so much for stopping by and reading my blog.  It means a lot to me.  Can’t wait to announce what my special writing project is but not yet.  A little mystery is good, right?

Talk to me:  Tell me about your pets and how they complete you.  🙂

2 thoughts on “draw near to Him

  1. From what I have seen, you DO need to be with cats. I am happy that you will be working with them again. Captain Jack Sparrow says he is happy for you too! But mostly he is happy that he has a new box.
    I enjoy reading your inspirational posts. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

