an apple a day

You should’ve seen my cart at the grocery store today.

Hint:

IMG_1645

 

In my quest and determination for a healthy gut and a calm stomach, I am changing the way I eat.  Changing what I eat.  Quite a lot.

A friend turned me onto a book called Proteinaholic by Dr. Garth Davis.  Not five minutes after he recommended the book it was on the kindle app on my phone and I started digging in.  Having been through med school and having practiced medicine for several years, Dr. Davis gradually discovered that many of us are pretty obsessed with protein.  Mostly animal protein (think chicken, steak, bacon, ham…).  I don’t want to go into great detail here on the blog but if you’re curious grab it on kindle and give it a read.  I’m not finished with the book yet but by the end of chapter three this dude had me convinced enough to skip to the recipe section and crank out a grocery list the likes of which I have never made before.

The author himself went vegan.  Like, straight vegan.  I don’t wanna do that and I don’t have to.  But after learning that meat is the most difficult thing for our systems to digest I am going to cut out some meats for sure.  I enjoy chicken, turkey, eggs, occasional cheese….so I won’t be going vegan or even vegetarian.  I’m optimistic, though, that cutting way back on meat and dairy and eating tons more fresh veggies, fruits, nuts and whole grains will be incredibly beneficial.  I hope.  I really, really hope.

Dr. Davis suggests that our protein-heavy diets contribute hugely to cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and yes, digestive disorders.

Needless to say, the produce section was my friend today.  It felt good to be tossing so many fresh, whole foods into my cart.  I knew I’d need some serious containers to store some of this stuff in so I invested in some decent ones.

IMG_1651

When I got home I beheld the bounty….

 

….and got to washing, chopping and container-put-intoing.

 

IMG_1657

IMG_1658

IMG_1652IMG_1654

 

Let food be thy medicine and medicine be thy food.” ~Hippocrates

 

 

First meal: lunch.  Sprouted avocado sandwich with a dill pickle and fresh fruit.

 

IMG_1659

 

Two confessions:

  • I snuck a slice of cheese on the sammy.
  • I didn’t eat the peel of the apple.  Don’t wanna overwhelm my tummy with too much fiber right away.

It was very good and just so fresh-tasting.  I would even go so far as to call it refreshing.  Now I am praying that my sensitive tummy doesn’t have trouble digesting all this wonderful healthy food.  Greens are excellent for digestion (they actually help carry the other foods through your system) so again, I’m optimistic.

 

“In order to change we must be sick and tired of being sick and tired.” ~Author Unknown

 

You know I’ll keep you posted on how this goes!

Talk to me:  Have you tried a healthy eating plan like this?  How healthy do you eat currently?   Wanna eat healthy along with me?  Get the book and let me know what you think!

Thank you for reading and I look forward to your comments!

4 thoughts on “an apple a day

  1. Congratulations on your decision to eat less animal protein. I’ve been vegan for 2+ years and my only regret is not doing it earlier in life.
    I just bought Dr Garth’s book looking forward to it. You may also be interested in reading The China Study.

    Like

  2. I am vegetarian. When I stopped eating meat I didn’t notice much change, however my hubby {now ex} had been suffering from digestive disorders for a few years found an immediate improvement to his discomfort upon quitting meat.
    Wishing you well on this new journey, Wendy, and hope it brings you the good health and improvements you are seeking.

    Like

  3. I will read this book. I’ve tried to eat like this more than once. I didn’t stick to it because my husband is a meat love candy I caved. I’m looking forward to your journey. Who knows I may try again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

